Digital Dirt

February 21, 2009

Even if I Wanted to…

Filed under: Controlling Your Digital Footprint — Danny Petre @ 11:34 am

 

multitasking

The past two weeks have been hectic for me.  School, work, family, friends and a boyfriend all make for a very complicated and busy life.  One moment I am writing a deck for my client, the next I am working on a homework assignment for school, and the next… well who knows.

Consider this: in a 1 hour span yesterday I was uploading “sensitive” client materials to an FTP site, editing a group paper for my strategic message class on Google Docs, adding my notes to another group assignment in Google Groups for my digital communications class, emailing my client, my boss, my other coworkers, texting my boyfriend, calling my sister-in-law on my personal cell, texting yet again on my work cell, watching a funny clip on YouTube, updating my Facebook status, paying my credit card bill on Bank of America’s website, and to top it off, my coworker Caitlin thought it would be fun to take my digital camera from my bag and snap a few pics of me!

My friend and classmate Alex might think I’m “(dis) engaged” (check out his blog on the subject) by doing so much at virtually one time.  But the fact of the matter is I got a LOT of stuff done in a short period of time that I likely wouldn’t have completed if these technologies didn’t exist.  A few years ago I would have had to either have a conference call with my two class groups or met them in person and I would have had to write a check for my credit card bill.   

So even if I wanted to… control my digital footprint… I don’t think I could.  My reliance on technology to get stuff done it too great.  Right now I have five Safari windows open, in addition to AIM, my email, and my iPhone sitting next to me just in case…  Oh, and Jeremy just instant messaged me, in which our conversation about his night out at the Chelsea Hotel will surely be logged on both our computers.

I jump from one digital technology to the next without even thinking.  What I mean to say is, “without even thinking what Digital Dirt I am spreading.”  So Alex is partly right, I get get a lot done because of technology, but you are so disengaged that you are reliant on it to some extent and it is hard to monitor your digital footprint trail.

1 Comment »

  1. The beauty of parentheses is that you can decide whether they apply or not. I have to say that I am still torn on whether it is good or not to be so digitally “involved,” but I definitely see your point. everywhere we hear about controlling our dirt, as you put it, but it seems virtually impossible to do unless you live in the middle of nowhere Idaho and can remove yourself from the world (that is not a knock Shawn – I am sure it is beautiful and a great place to grow up/live 😉

    I know that without being able to do all of those things you detail above I would be unemployed, and totally out of touch with the world we live in, for better of for worse.

    Comment by Alex — February 21, 2009 @ 4:37 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

